Windows 10 News and info | Forum
August 24, 2019, Loading... *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: This is a clean Ad-free Forum and protected by StopForumSpam, Project Honeypot, Botscout and AbuseIPDB | This forum does not use audio ads, popups, or other annoyances. New member registration currently disabled.
 
  Website   Home   Windows 8 Website GDPR Help Login Register  
By continuing to use the site or forum, you agree to the use of cookies, find out more by reading our GDPR policy.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Share this topic on Del.icio.usShare this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on MySpaceShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on TechnoratiShare this topic on TwitterShare this topic on YahooShare this topic on Google buzz
Author Topic: Facebook is making it clearer which of your groups are private  (Read 32 times)
javajolt
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Gender: Male
United States United States

Posts: 30369


I Do Windows


WWW Email
« on: August 15, 2019, 12:59:06 AM »
ReplyReply

Facebook is making a change to how groups are created and defined on the social network, limiting options to a simple common-sense model. Currently, a group on Facebook can be classified as one of three, Public, Secret or Closed.

A Public group is one which is open and visible to all, while Secret and Closed groups were more private affairs with the distinguishing feature being that one needed a direct link to access a Secret group on Facebook. The firm is simplifying it y changing it to two classifications, Private and Public.

“We’re making this change because we’ve heard from people that they want more clarity about the privacy settings for their groups. Having two privacy settings — public and private — will help make it clearer about who can find the group and see the members and posts that are part of it,”  Facebook’s Jordan Davis, Product Manager for Facebook Groups said on Wednesday. “We’ve also heard that most people prefer to use the terms “public” and “private” to describe the privacy settings of groups they belong to.”

Here’s a graphical explanation of how the new privacy structure maps onto the old way of doing things.


click to enlarge

The first is a  regular ‘Public’ group, the second is what used to be known as a ‘Closed’ group while the last one is a ‘Secret’ one. With the new classifications, it is now more clear both to users and admins what their group classification entails.

The change is rolling out from today onwards.

source
Logged



Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines

Google visited last this page August 16, 2019, 05:41:39 AM