Windows 10 News and info | Forum
July 09, 2020, Loading... *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: This is a clean Ad-free Forum and protected by StopForumSpam, Project Honeypot, Botscout and AbuseIPDB | This forum does not use audio ads, popups, or other annoyances. New member registration currently disabled.
 
  Website   Home   Windows 8 Website GDPR Help Login Register  
By continuing to use the site or forum, you agree to the use of cookies, find out more by reading our GDPR policy.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Share this topic on Del.icio.usShare this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on MySpaceShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on TechnoratiShare this topic on TwitterShare this topic on YahooShare this topic on Google buzz
Author Topic: Windows 10 being upgraded to the May 2020 Update without user consent  (Read 25 times)
javajolt
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
United States United States

Posts: 31569


I Do Windows


WWW Email
« on: June 13, 2020, 10:11:10 PM »
ReplyReply

Who can forget the bad old days when Microsoft decided it knew best and forced Windows 10 upgrades on users without their consent? Windows 7 owners who left their systems alone for any length of time often returned to find theyíd been 'upgraded' to Windows 10.

Thankfully those days are behind us, and now when Microsoft rolls out a Windows 10 feature update thatís compatible with your system, you can choose when to install it. Except, that is when Windows 10 goes rogue and installs the latest update without warning.

As reported by Woody on Windows, a growing number of Windows 10 users running version 1903 and 1909 of the OS are claiming their systems have been upgraded to Windows 10 2004 -- the May 2020 Update -- without their consent.

This isnít the first time that weíve heard stories like this. In fact, itís common to hear such complaints following the rollout of each new feature update, but as Woody says, "Most of the time, some digging shows that the person who was upgraded had, in fact, clicked on something they shouldnít have."

However, this time is different and it looks like the problem could be down to a bug caused by a combination of events.

If your PC is eligible for version 2004 and you pause the update, and that pause expires (or you manually turn it off) it looks like thereís a real chance the update will install itself.

Some people believe Microsoft is forcing the update on users on purpose, but in this instance, I think itís just accidental, although thatís no consolation for anyone whose system has been upgraded against their will.

If thatís happened to you -- and please let us know in the comments if it has -- you can roll back the update by opening Settings, click on Update & Security and then Recovery on the left.

Click Get started under 'Go back to the previous version of Windows 10'.

source
Logged


Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines

Google visited last this page June 14, 2020, 08:24:53 PM