Author Topic: Brief Self-Introduction  (Read 863 times)

Offline incurablegeek

Brief Self-Introduction
« on: June 22, 2009, 08:10:15 PM »
My name is Dennis, from Nashville, TN and my handle is incurablegeek (incurablegeek@yahoo.com). Although I have been working with computers, not just using them, for about 20+ years, I still consider myself to be a newbie and therefore am more than willing to be corrected or disagreed with. That is the only way I will learn.

For all of my adult life I have been involved in the development of language education materials (English and Japanese), the English materials depending upon symbolic logic, Boolean Venn Diagrams, decision-tree logic, etc and consisting of 10 levels of interleaved learning from Elementary ESL through College Level English. Nothing of what I have developed resembles the rambling, discursive nonsense that rules the so-called "Language Arts" curricula. Sorry to be so prideful, but these materials represent a life's work of development, and 20,000+ hours of testing and refinement.

My computer equipment consists of an older 3 Ghz. Intel CPU, 2 GB of RAM, 200 GB Hard Drive, etc. It works but it is choking on the work that I am throwing at it, so I have added the following computer to the mix. Since 1992 I have "designed" and built all my computers - nothing off the shelf. Again prideful, so my apologies accordingly:

1)   ASUS M4A79 Deluxe Motherboard CPU Bundle - Socket AM2+, AMD Phenom II X4 940 3.0GHz Black Edition Quad Core Processor

2)   Visiontek Radeon HD 3870 X2 Video Card - Overclocked Edition, 1GB GDDR3, PCI Express 2.0, CrossFireX Ready, (Dual Link) Quad DVI, HDTV, HDMI Support (Supports 4 monitors)

3)   Corsair Dual Channel TWINX 4096MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Memory (8 GB. RAM Total)

4)   Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS Hard Drive - 1TB, 7200, 32MB, SATA-300, OEM (5 TB. total)