Author Topic: Why bother killing something that doesn't put up a fight  (Read 905 times)

Offline javajolt

• Administrator
  • I Do Windows
    • windows10newsinfo.com
Why bother killing something that doesn't put up a fight
« on: March 08, 2009, 03:56:52 AM »
Read what an IT Professional has to say about Linux, and how Microsoft is better and in the long run, and cheaper to administer...javajolt

Submitted by Justin Chandler on February 11, 2009 - 10:28 A.M.

Before saying anything, let's get one thing straight: I have 20+ years of computing experience, with 12 of those years having been professional in nature. Over the past 10 years I have been managing server environments. Presently, I manage a data center that is predominately Linux (RHEL4-5) and Solaris-based machines. Previously, I was part of a 10 man team that managed 4500+ Wintel (Windows 2k, 2k3 on Intel CPU) machines. Speaking from experience, Linux is NOT a more stable or reliable operating system compared with Windows. We constantly have engineers working to correct problems with, or rebooting the Linux-based machines, while the few Windows-based machines have remained completely untouched for the past 6 months. We have uptimes on a couple of our Windows boxes of nearly 4 years -- a number the Linux machines haven't even come close to (The Solaris machines, while a real PITA to set up are, however, definitely rock solid!). Basically the only real advantage of the Linux operating system is that it is much cheaper to purchase than Microsoft Windows. HOWEVER, the total cost of ownership has proven to be anything but free, with the downtime and configuration time required to get things up and running with it. Attribute this to the requirement of modifying obscurely-named text files scattered through the file system in random places, the odd method of having to use a package manager to locate an application in a list of thousands, the difficult way to make system-wide changes without having to go to several